Reviews from Young People

Testimonials from Young People and Parents

We have many wonderful reviews from young people and parents that we have helped.

Reviews from young people and parents

testimonial from 8 year old with anxiety and worries

8 year old with anxiety and worries, September 2021

"Kate - thank you again for all the great work with J over the last months.  I don’t think he would be where he is now without your help.  I am sure there will be wobbles in the coming weeks, but I feel very reassured that he has your support to guide him through the rest of this term. "

Parent of first year University student, September 2021

"Thanks v much for fitting us in and for your help today. J said how much fun it was to walk Lily - amazing progress! "

Parent of a 10 year old with dog phobia, September 2021

"I’m coping with my anxiety and panic so much better. I’ve even managed to go back to my theatre group & haven’t had any panic attacks since my trip at the end of last term. You helped me so much over the Summer – thank you!!"

17 year old with panic disorder

"It’s been amazingly helpful to have these sessions. My friends and family have noticed such a change in me. I hadn’t imagined that CBT could be this helpful."

22 year old University Masters Student with anxiety and perfectionism, September 2021

"I’ve just received my GCSE results and want to thank you for all your help over the last few months. I’ve found all the lockdowns to be so difficult and can’t imagine managing my anxiety and OCD at all if it wasn’t for my sessions with you. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I’m actually looking forward to getting back to school and starting A levels!  "

16 year old with OCD, August 2021

"Again thank you so much for everything Kate. I thank our lucky stars we found you every day and I am really grateful for everything you have done for J. "

Parent of 10 year old with Anxiety

"The sessions with you have been really good. My family think I’m transformed because I don’t do my habits anymore. I also don’t feel as worried about going out and being judged. I used to think people would look at me and think I was weird but after the experiments and the survey we did, I really don’t think people are as negative as I thought. Practising defending myself just in case people judge me, was really helpful too. It helped me feel more confident and believe that I can stand up for myself. Thanks Kate. The CBT has really helped me"

15 year old with anxiety, July 2021

"We just wanted to let you know that we feel B is engaging really well with the CBT. She has definitely been better in social situations – She ordered our drinks from a café yesterday and is determined to go to the shop this afternoon to carry out her behavioural experiment! Thankyou so much for all your help so far!"

Parents of a 14 year old with social anxiety, July 2021

"The sessions with Kate have been invaluable. I can now see where my low confidence comes from and have learned lots of strategies to stop my anxiety from holding me back. More than anything, Kate has gently and persistently encouraged me to see that that just because I think something, even if there are still occasions when I believe it, it doesn’t mean that it’s true. My thoughts are not me and they are not always accurate or helpful to me. I know there’s still lots of practising to do but I really believe that I’m now moving in the right direction and that it’s more than possible to accept and appreciate myself, just as I am.  "

23 year old law student, June 2021

"Thanks for your ongoing help, patience and kindness towards I. She is really struggling at the moment but after your sessions, seems more positive and hopeful. Today she went straight out for a run before supper and has other enjoyable activities planned to help with her mood. As parents we feel very grateful for your support right now. "

Parents of a 15 year old with low mood, June 2021

"I just wanted to say many thanks for helping N. It’s good to see her feel more confident about her worries. We’ll definitely be in touch again if she would ever like more help. "

Father of an 18 year old with Social Anxiety, June 2021

"B ’s been doing brilliantly. He is generally happy, feeling pretty confident with managing his OCD, and seems to be making headway with mixing socially at school. I am so pleased with how much progress he’s made since his first session with you back in February. It’s a huge relief, and we’re immensely grateful for your help.. "

Mother of an 11 year old boy with OCD and social worries, May 2021

"Thanks so much for all of the time you have put into your meetings with V and the compassion you have shown her. This has been a challenging academic year with covid restrictions as well; we don’t think V would have managed to get so many positive experiences from it, were it not for your input."

Parent of Second Year University student with anxiety and low mood, May 2021

"As I said a huge THANK YOU for all you’ve helped me with. You’re a true professional, good at what you do and a lovely person to work with. "

25 year old with anxiety, low mood and trauma symptoms, April 2021

"I wanted to thank you again for all your help! It has really helped me feel more in control of my thoughts and better able to deal with issues I previously wouldn’t have been able to. I feel a lot more confident and happier within myself and am a lot less stressed than I’ve been in years. You were incredibly welcoming and supportive throughout and I always felt listened to and understood. Many thanks again "

 22 year old University student with low self-esteem and perfectionism, April 2021

"It’s been one hell of an emotional roller-coaster at times but we couldn’t have got to this point without you Kate. You have always been there to contain and support us throughout. We can’t thank you enough for helping x and us to achieve what we have. "

Parents of a 10 year old with separation anxiety disorder, March 2021

"It’s been so helpful to stop and think about the way I’m looking at things. I hadn’t realised how automatic and unhelpful my thinking can be. It’s great to experience how a different perspective can change so many of my assumptions about myself, my boyfriend, my friends and my Uni work. I feel so much happier and settled in myself."

19 year old University student with anxiety and low mood, March 2021

"I had a great email from x’s Science teacher yesterday saying how he’s noticed a positive change with x now paying attention in class... he even put his hand up the other day! He’s really starting to develop more confidence in managing social situations."

Parent of 13 year old with social anxiety, March 2021

"Thank you for all your help with the CBT. It really has been life changing. "

20 year old with body dysmorphic disorder, February 2021

"I hardly recognise myself these days but I know and appreciate that life has its ups and downs and knowing that you are there to guide me back on to the right path when I need it is a huge comfort."

25 year old with low self-esteem, February 2021

"A few weeks ago I didn’t believe I’d ever be able to manage my OCD symptoms. I’m now feeling much more in control and can finally start to relax more and enjoy seeing my friends again."

14 year old with OCD , January 2021

"Thank you for being the glitter in our day Kate"

Parents of 10 year old with selective eating problems, November 2020

"When I first started work with Kate, I was feeling anxious for a lot of the time and having frequent panic attacks at school and at my Saturday job. One of the most important things I discovered through my weekly CBT sessions, was that although my anxiety may be uncomfortable, it isn’t dangerous. I haven’t had a panic attack for weeks and weeks. I feel so much more confident now. Thankyou."

17 year old with Panic Disorder, November 2020

"After such a challenging first year, we never thought Ben would be able to settle back into University life and to manage his anxiety in social situations. He’s almost at the end of his first term back and seems so much happier, confident and settled. We really appreciate your help."

Parents of 2nd Year University Student, November 2020

"L is finding the sessions really useful. Thankyou. After dropping out of University last year, we were worried about him starting his first year again at another University but he seems to have settled well and seems so happy.

Parent of 19 year old University student with anxiety and low mood, November 2020

"Hello Kate, I just wanted to email and say thank you for all your help - I am managing my anxiety much better than before and have found the sessions to be really helpful. I have been able to stay in all my lessons and haven’t been to the medical centre at all since going back to school afer Lockdown."

16 year old with phobia, October 2020

"The CBT with Kate really helped me and it built my confidence. I had 12 sessions and I no longer have my PTSD symptoms which is fantastic."

16 years old Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, November 2020

"Hi Kate, Thank you for these last few booster sessions with you. They have been so helpful, and I feel as if we have now covered everything and achieved my goals. I am now much more confident in dealing with my thoughts & feelings, and I'm so grateful for everything you've taught and shown me. If in the future I start to lose this, I would love to continue with some more sessions, but for now I think I’m ready to keep on practising all the skills I’ve learnt. I never thought I’d reach this point. Thank you so much."

17 year old with low self-esteem / confidence, October 2020

"Kate really helped us understand why D has been struggling so much with her anxiety and worries. With this new understanding, we are now able to help and support her more and have shared this information with D’s school. D seems to be calmer and happier than she has been in a long time."

Parents of a 10 year old girl with ASD, September 2020

"The CBT sessions have made a real difference to my mood and anxious feelings. I’m feeling more positive towards everything and talking to Kate has helped me to see things differently. I can now notice when I’m catastrophizing and starting to feel panicky. I use different strategies and positive self-talk and can challenge my thinking and thoughts when I need to. Thankyou Kate."

"Although I continue to have to keep my OCD in check, Kate has helped me so much through our sessions. She has taught me useful strategies and techniques, most of all given me clarity and has also created a safe and supportive space to speak about anything I needed to. We also covered other areas outside OCD which has helped boost my self esteem, made me feel happier in day to day life and has caused me to look at things from a more realistic and positive viewpoint with much less overthinking! With her guidance and help I generally feel more equipped to handle my anxiety and look at the world in a different and more positive way."

17 year old with OCD and low confidence / self-esteem, February 2020

"Dear Kate, I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for everything you’ve done for me. Your kindness, understanding, patience and support have unquestionably been the biggest reasons why I have been able to make it through the toughest period of my life so far. You have taught me an awful lot about myself and the importance of resilience and self-belief. As a result, I have grown and matured as a person and feel confident that I am now my own therapist with skills to manage whatever lies ahead during my future life at University. All of this will stay with me forever. I thank you."

18 year old with depression, 2020

"For about 12 weeks, Kate and I worked together and discussed a range of issues that I had been struggling with for a couple of years. Kate was always very welcoming and warm and I felt that my concerns were always met with genuine understanding and taken seriously. I established a good rapport with Kate from the beginning and this made me feel more at ease when talking about some uncomfortable subjects and provided me with a safe place in which to do so. I have made so many improvements in the way I view and now accept myself. I thoroughly enjoyed working with Kate and would highly recommend her to anyone looking for CBT."

20 year old University Student with Body Dysmorphic Disorder February 2020

"I know M has benefitted greatly from her sessions with you and I would like to thank you for your investment in her wellbeing over the past few months"

Mum of 20 year old University Student with Body Dysmorphic Disorder, February 2020

"Kate was very helpful for me. She helped me to better understand my condition and gave me the time to feel properly listened to, understood and cared for. We also worked towards taking positive actions and altering my unhelpful thinking patterns. I now feel that I can be my own therapist!"

22 year old University Student with Perfectionism, January 2020

"Thank you so much for helping R with her difficulties. These last 2 weeks, she has been able to manage her exams without too much stress. This is a big difference. As you know, last year, R just couldn’t manage school very well and wasn’t able to stay in the room to do her exams. We can’t thank you enough for your help."

17 years old Social Anxiety, Mum, January 2020

Get in touch with us today

Find out how the Bristol CBT Clinic can help