What our clients say about us

Testimonials

Many of our clients have kindly written a review of their experience with Bristol CBT Clinic for young people. Testimonials from young people, parents, and professionals we’ve worked with, provide a valuable insight into the services we provide.

If you would like to talk to a professional we are currently working with or have worked with in the past, please contact us. We can put you in touch with professionals who have accessed Supervision, Training or Consultation with Bristol CBT Clinic.

Reviews from young people and parents

"Kate gave me some really good strategies for dealing with my worries. She was a very good listener and always took my worries seriously. "

9 year old boy with worries and anxiety, April 2022

testimonial from 15 year old with general anxiety, GAD

15 year old with Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD), April 2022

"Again, thank you for everything, it's life-changing to be feeling so much better."

25 year old, 12 months after recovering from OCD, March 2022

"Thank you for helping him - it’s made a huge difference"

Parents of a 20 year old student with OCD, December 2021

"CBT has helped me to understand and manage my anxiety instead of being against it and feeling afraid of it "

15 year old with OCD and low mood, November 2021

testimonial from 8 year old with anxiety and worries

8 year old with anxiety and worries, September 2021

"It’s been amazingly helpful to have these sessions. My friends and family have noticed such a change in me. I hadn’t imagined that CBT could be this helpful."

22 year old University Masters Student with anxiety and perfectionism, September 2021

"Thanks v much for fitting us in and for your help today. J said how much fun it was to walk Lily - amazing progress! "

Parent of a 10 year old with dog phobia, September 2021

"As I said a huge THANK YOU for all you’ve helped me with. You’re a true professional, good at what you do and a lovely person to work with. "

25 year old with anxiety, low mood and trauma symptoms, April 2021

"Thank you for all your help with the CBT. It really has been life changing. "

20 year old with body dysmorphic disorder, February 2021

"Thank you for being the glitter in our day Kate"

Parents of 10 year old with selective eating problems, November 2020

"The CBT with Kate really helped me and it built my confidence. I had 12 sessions and I no longer have my PTSD symptoms which is fantastic."

16 years old Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, November 2020

"When I first started work with Kate, I was feeling anxious for a lot of the time and having frequent panic attacks at school and at my Saturday job. One of the most important things I discovered through my weekly CBT sessions, was that although my anxiety may be uncomfortable, it isn’t dangerous. I haven’t had a panic attack for weeks and weeks. I feel so much more confident now. Thankyou."

17 year old with Panic Disorder, November 2020

Reviews from Supervisees

"I have worked as a CBT Therapist with Kate Donoghue for 6 years and have received 1:1 and group supervision from her for the whole of that time. Kate takes a structured and planned approach to the supervision relationship, taking time to understand what the supervisee wants to explore or learn during each session, and to check out with them whether that has been achieved. I have always felt at ease with Kate. She elicits learning and discovery through using the Socratic method. She has a great clarity and economy of expression that brings the work to life and enhances understanding. Kate identifies suitable models and approaches, and signposts relevant resources. In our supervision we have used active methods such as drawing formulations, reviewing video, and role-playing aspects of clinical sessions. Kate is a highly experienced and respected clinician and I would highly recommend her."

Bobby Orchard - CBT Therapist, CAMHS

"As a Psychiatry trainee, Kate supervised me doing a short CBT case as part of my CAMHS placement. I did not have any previous experience, but with Kate's support and wisdom I was able to deliver CBT with confidence. I am so thankful that I had this opportunity to learn about CBT by actually delivering it, rather than just observing. I do not think I would have been able to do this without such an experienced, enthusiastic supervisor encouraging me. Kate always values your opinions and makes you feel an important part of the team. She is able to bring a wealth of knowledge and experience from a long career in child and adolescent mental health to her CBT supervision which I have found invaluable."

Sally Stuart - Core Trainee in Psychiatry

"Dear Kate. I just wanted to say thankyou so much for all of your help and support throughout my CBT training this year. You’ve been such a great Supervisor and your knowledge, skills and expertise have without a doubt, helped me to grow and develop as a CBT therapist. I now feel ready to take off my L plates!"

CBT trainee, University of Reading Diploma (Children and Young People IAPT CBT Diploma)

Reviews from Training Courses and Workshops

CBT Skills Workshop : Working with young people with anxiety and low mood
(Training provided to professionals working within a Child & Adolescent Mental Health Service, November 2019)

"A fantastic day’s workshop. I really enjoyed the group experiences, case examples and video clips which informed the teaching. Thankyou. The whole day was excellent."

"A good overview of CBT-informed work. I already use CBT a lot but Kate still made the training incredibly useful. I’m full of ideas and have learned about new tools which I can now go back and put in to practise."

"I benefitted so much from this workshop and would highly recommend it to others’ using CBT skills in their work"

Workshop: An Overview of mental health problems in children and young people
(Training provided to teachers, learning support assistants, School Nurses, Social Workers and Social Care staff, Foster Care Agency Staff, Youth Workers and Statutory agency professionals October 2019, January 2020)

"As a Deputy Head of a large secondary school, I’ve seen a huge increase over the last 10 years in the number of pupils struggling with mental health difficulties. It’s so difficult to know how and when to offer support and when to refer on to a specialist agency like CAMHS. This workshop has proved invaluable in improving my understanding of this area and I will certainly be recommending that other teachers in our school also attend this workshop. All in all an excellent day of training."

Get in touch with us today

Find out how the Bristol CBT Clinic can help you with Supervision, Consultation or Training